We've already looked at some basic site setup and talked about considerations you want to think about before creating content, now it's time to start talking about content creation.
Where do I create and edit content from?
Content will be created and edited from the Dashboard. Form there, all feature types are organized into a series of tiles. Clicking the feature tile (Callouts as example), will open a page displaying a list of any callouts that may have been previously created (this will be blank if nothing has been created yet!).
Near the top of the page is a button for adding new content. Click the add button and complete the fields and follow the prompts in the subsequent window to create the content.
Publishing workflow
For most content you create, you will see set of collapsed sections and fields on the right.
This area is referred to as the publishing workflow, the settings here will vary slightly depending on the type of content, but options can include: adding a link to the content in your main or top menu, settings for controlling who has access to the content, creating a custom path to the content, and more.
It's important to note that these settings are configured for each piece of content. For example, two different Callouts could have different publishing workflow settings based on who needs access the content or when you want users/patrons to see it on your site.
For more information on these settings, see the Publishing Workflow article.
How do I display content on my site?
Once you've created content, the next step is to make it accessible on your Stacks site.
This process may vary a little depending on what the content is and how you want your user/patrons to navigate to it. More detailed step by step instructions are located on the user guide articles that explain how to create the content, but at a high-level, options for this can include:
- Adding the content to your homepage or another landing page via the Layout Builder
- Adding a link to the content in your main menu or top menu
- Adding a link to the content via another feature type
Editing or deleting content
For any content that you have created and placed on your site, you can make edits or even delete this content at any time.
As mentioned earlier, after new content has been created, it will be displayed in a list on the feature type's main page when the tile is clicked from the Dashboard. From, here under the 'Operations' column, you will see a button to Edit that content; or if needed, click the drop-down arrow to access the option to Delete it.
Edits to existing content will almost immediately be visible on your site once the edits are saved, there is no need to re-add the content to you site as discussed above.